Cave Church In St. Peter Turkey By Hunter

I”m walking up to this building in turkey also known as the cave church in st. peter turkey. The church was actually a cave built into the side of the hills above Antioch. So as winded around the Mediterranean I knew eventually I would find Antioch. When we arrived there I saw this big church like thing in the side of the mountain. I had the suspicion that this building had a lot of history!! So i went to explore. This village had a lot of history so I did a little bit of research and found out that the name of this place is The cave church and is believed to be one of the first Christian churches in history. Once i got this information it was testing me too explore so one day, My parents went out fishing so I left them a note saying I would be back in twenty minutes and I was going for a swim. So of course with the kid intellectual I had the suspicion to go and explore instead of going swimming. When I got in from of this building it didn’t look as big as it did from a distance it only had a depth of 13m or 42ft with a width of 9.5 m or 31 feet and a height of 7 feet. Now I’m approaching the building,at first you see it has a stairway in the dead middle of the the building. I followed the stairs up the to the building. I see three very suspicious looking doors. So now I have lied to my parents about where I’m going and I’m stuck in front of this building, That I know little about. I want to go in it with no reference of it once over. So despite of the thoughts in my mind that I Ignored i decide to enter this very dark suspicious looking building.. Out of the three doors That are there I decide to enter the biggest door it caught my eye with the size and very interesting design.. And right and left doors are just too small to fit through and they had less of a pattern and wasn’t as interesting. My first instinct was to look straightforward once I got into the building and then saw a podium and ran out. I did more research the next time I went back I knew it was a thrown of where the priest stood for his service.

looks like the edge a wall around it, like it’s bordering it. There are these different designs above the different doors and the middle design is different. Which the middle door it look to be a different entrance like it’s singling out the other one cause it’s bigger and like the main path.The modern eye would probably go to the middle door which has the biggest design and entrance. The two smaller designs are shaped like stars that have 8 things on the edges. And with a circle/ oval above the star design with 9 dashed ovals above them. And the middle door has a more complicated design which look nothing like the middle design. The middle design is shaped like a plus sign turned at a forty five degree angle or a bunch of skulls turned at 45 degrees. With more of a sophisticated design with all the pattern around the main pattern of the skulls and also is a bigger scale. Also has more of a dashed line above the made four skull designs.
On the way onto the inside you can see that it does honestly look like a cave it’s built onto the side of the mountain and you can see that the walls and roof are carved out of stone. Then if you look straight in front of you it looks to be a stand made out of some sort of stone or concrete. This had a small altar, a single statue and when you walk in straight ahead of you there’s a stone throne. The wall to the left had a lot barely discernible remains of frescoes on it. The floor in front of me was made out of some trace of mosaic. There is a tunnel in the back of the church that leads into the mountain interior. At w=one time was supposedly used to be an escape route. This was all right behind the throne where the priest of this church spoke and or ran his service. This was believed to be the first Christian church. Above the throne, there is like a cover made out of stone that covers the like thing. This looks like it was almost naturally formed this was naturally formed but also had a lot of other ruins. The stalagmites above it and in the cave look all natural. Then on the above that it looks like a messenger or a follower of god holding the bible. It’s carved into the cave wall and or painted and sanded down. Around the stand, there’s this huge like mirror shaped wall that has all the stuff described in it. The verses around the cave are very descriptive about the first Christians and what they believed in. When I was trading through Antioch this is the first place I would have offered because of their fine architectural skills and what they had for land and all the spices and materials they had to trade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *